top of page

Peters and Rose Accept Rookie of the Year Trophies in Tampa

Mar. 15, 1964 - The Cincinnati Reds and Chicago White Sox put the long ball on parade today in Tampa and the Cincinnatians won their second straight Citrus loop game, 11-7.

Before the first pitch, the 1963 “Rookies of the Year” received their trophies in an on-field presentation ceremony (pictured). Gary Peters of the White Sox won the American League award, while Cincinnati’s Pete Rose won the title in the National League.

With a near capacity crowd of 3,845 looking on in 85-degree weather, the Reds slammed one homer, six doubles, and a triple, while the Sox produced three homers — two by Charley Smith — and a double.

The streamlined Reds got one hit every inning but the sixth in shelling right-handers Johnny Buzhardt, Fred Talbot, and Camilo Estevis for 17 hits. Chico Cardenas, who batted a disappointing .235 last season, led the way with three singles. Jim Campbell exploded a solo homer, Vada Pinson slammed out successive doubles in the first and second innings, and Tommy Harper chased home two runners with a fifth-inning triple.

This devastating attack made it easy for the two Jims — Maloney and O’Toole — and Sammy Ellis, who limited the Sox to eight hits. Maloney reeled off three hitless innings in picking up the victory. But last year’s 23-game winner had control trouble, especially in the second inning, when he doled out four of his five walks in forcing home the first White Sox tally.

The Californian had his fastball whistling a merry tune, getting three Sox on strikes. “My arm never felt stronger and looser before at this stage of the training season,” Jim said after showering.


bottom of page