top of page

NFL: Jim Brown is Rushing Leader for 5th Straight Year

Dec. 20, 1961 - Jim Brown of the Cleveland Browns survived a late-season rally by Jim Taylor of the Packers and set a NFL scoring record by taking rushing honors for the fifth consecutive year. No other league player has ever won five rushing titles. Brown carried the ball 305 times and gained 1,408 yards for an average of 4.6 yards.


bottom of page