top of page

Houston Oilers Repeat as AFL Champions

Dec. 24, 1961 - George Blanda passed for the only touchdown today and kicked a 46-yard field goal to lead the Houston Oilers to their second consecutive American Football League championship. They defeated the San Diego Chargers 10-3. The 33-year-old quarterback also kicked the Oilers’ extra point. A San Diego crowd of 29,556 saw an intense defensive struggle, with Houston’s linebackers containing the passing of Jack Kemp. San Diego, in turn, intercepted six Houston passes. Houston decided the game in the third quarter when Blanda hit Billy Cannon from the San Diego 35-yard line. Cannon caught the ball on the 20 and raced the rest of the way.


bottom of page