top of page

Alabama's Paul (Bear) Bryant is College Coach of the Year

Jan. 13, 1962 - Paul (Bear) Bryant of Alabama was voted 1961’s college football coach of the year today by the American Football Coaches Association. Bryant’s Alabama team was undefeated and untied in 10 regular-season games. It was ranked No. 1 by The Associated Press and United Press International. The other candidates were Darrell Royal of Texas, Aldo (Buff) Donelli of Columbia, Woody Hayes of Ohio State, Murray Warmath of Minnesota, Bill Murray of Duke, Jack Mollenkopf of Purdue, and John Ralston of Utah State. Warmath was the 1960 coach of the year.


bottom of page