top of page

10 of 22 NFL All-Stars are Packers

Dec. 11, 1962 - The Green Bay Packers are heavily represented on the A.P. All-Star team of the NFL. The roster was released today. The Packers had 10 of the 22 players selected on the offensive and defensive units. Paul Hornung, the player of the year in 1961, did not make the team selected by sportswriters and broadcasters from the 14 league cities. Green Bay’s star halfback missed about half the season because of a knee injury. Jim Taylor, a fullback; Ron Kramer, end; Forrest Gregg, tackle; Jerry Kramer, guard; and Jim Ringo, center, of the Packers were named to the first offensive team. Willie Davis, a defensive end; Henry Jordan, a tackle; Dan Currie and Bill Forrester, linebackers, and Herb Adderley, cornerback, made the defensive unit. The New York Giants, who already have clinched the Eastern Conference title, put four men on the two teams. These included Y.A. Tittle, 36-year-old quarterback, and Del Shofner, his favorite target. Tackle Roosevelt Brown also was placed on the offensive team for the Giants, and safety Jimmy Patton made it on defense. Detroit’s tremendous defensive unit earned four places: Joe Schmidt, a center linebacker; Roger Brown, a tackle; and Dick (Night Train) Lane and Yale Lary in the secondary.


bottom of page